i tried under both firefox and ie and its blocked for both of them
http://betaplayer.corecodec.org/
any suggestions?
yes i turned off outpost and got to the site but other than that :) thanks
Try running in the wizard mode. It tries to make connections from port 8884. In the block most mode, this stops it and blocks the site. You have to allow those connections if you want to see the site.
How is it that you can get there Hayc? You got that port open?
Port 8884 is only used to download one image (ccdotorg.jpg) so blocking this should not cause a problem with the rest of the page. What exact results do you get SnowSurfer? (blank page, error message, partial page, etc).
Previous problems of this type have been found to be Javascript related - try disabling Javascript in the Active Content plugin to see what difference this makes. block pop up:: Block pop-up and pop-under ads windows. 30-days for free. Being a firewall by its nature, Outpost also detects and blocks all types of hacker http://www.exefind.com/block-pop-up/page5.htmlHOME |
With my Outpost running
got there with IE and Firefox
without a problem
running windows 98se
I don't see this as an error as such - this is simply a website triggering a connection on a non-standard port which is not included in the preset browser rules. This should then either be blocked (if in Block Most policy) or prompted for (if in Rules Wizard policy).
While the IP address connected to is different from the website's address, this could be for legitimate reasons (it is for an image so maybe it is to reduce bandwidth usage - and hosting cost - for the website). Comodo Firewall Pro Version 3.0:: Previous experiences are based on using Agnitum Outpost, starting with the free The 'Block All' mode blocks all traffic in and out of your computer and http://homepage.ntlworld.com/herring1/firewall.htmlHOME |
kronckew posted exactly the error i get, the site is for betaplayer which is a video player for pocket pc. Kinda wierd that its on port 8884 Official eMule-Board > Configuring Outpost For Kademlia:: 4 posts - Last post: Oct 5, 2005Now i put Emule in thrusted apps under Outpost, but Kademlia cannot work. accesses and asks whether or not to allow/block them. http://forum.emule-project.net/lofiversion/index.php/t88488.htmlHOME |
Did you see the connection to that port under network activity soon after you clicked the link? How is it that you could get there without allowing that connection but I had to allow it?
hi y'all
just tried it myself to see if i could spot anything obvious, get an error logged under the 'My internet' section - blocked that says 'blocked all activity' for the reason, no entry under any of the plugins, disabling the plugins does not help either...cc. of log line follows:
10:51:18 firefox.exe TCP 68.192.225.162 8884 Block All Activity
a 'whereis' lookup on this ip produced the following:
=========start (edited fir brevity)=============
2004/05/25 11:01:04 REQUEST: address: 68.192.225.162
2004/05/25 11:01:04 REQUEST: host: ool-44c0e1a2.dyn.optonline.net
2004/05/25 11:01:04 REQUEST: using server whois.arin.net
2004/05/25 11:01:05 SEND:68.192.225.162
2004/05/25 11:01:05 ANSWER:
OrgName: Optimum Online (Cablevision Systems)
OrgID: OPTO
Address: 111 new south RD
City: Hicksville
StateProv: NY
PostalCode: 11801
Country: US
NetRange: 68.192.0.0 - 68.199.255.255
CIDR: 68.192.0.0/13
NetName: NETBLK-OOL-5BLK
NetHandle: NET-68-192-0-0-1
Parent: NET-68-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS.CV.NET
NameServer: NS2.CV.NET
Comment:
RegDate: 2003-01-29
Updated: 2003-06-05
===============end=================
this is not on my blockpost banned list either, tho 68.192.220.221 IS (and is closeby) and is listed as Optonline piracy snitch. could they be blocking it themselves at optonline if port 8884 is not open to them?
the actual url resolves to 207.44.244.117 if you ping it or tracert it & the whereis gives:
=========start (edited for brevity)===================
2004/05/25 11:18:00 REQUEST: address: 207.44.244.117
2004/05/25 11:18:00 REQUEST: using server whois.arin.net
2004/05/25 11:18:00 SEND:207.44.244.117
2004/05/25 11:18:01 ANSWER:
OrgName: Everyones Internet, Inc.
OrgID: EVRY
Address: 2600 Southwest Freeway
Address: Suite 500
City: Houston
StateProv: TX
PostalCode: 77098
Country: US
NetRange: 207.44.128.0 - 207.44.255.255
CIDR: 207.44.128.0/17
NetName: EVRY-BLK-11
NetHandle: NET-207-44-128-0-1
Parent: NET-207-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS1.EV1.NET
NameServer: NS2.EV1.NET
Comment:
RegDate:
Updated: 2002-05-08
==============end===============================
the actual browser error is:
======start=======
Connection Failure Error
The connection was refused when attempting to contact corecodec.homeunix.org:8884.
The browser was unable to connect to the specified site, even though it exists. This may be because the site does not accept connections from your computer, the service may be down, or the site does not support the service or port that you tried to connect to.
Try again
=======end========
something looks fishy! (notice the url name change in the error....)
w/o outpost you CAN connect, site seems to be 'music' related, could someone be fishing for pirates? ie. optonline?
Port:http://www.pcflank.com/img/wpxl.gifStatus Service Description 8884 stealthed n/a n/a
Manny Results from pcflanks port test
must be a gremlin all is blocked
8884 (http://grc.com/port_8884.htm)http://grc.com/transpixel.gif
StealthUnknown Protocol for this port
Unknown Application for this port
grc specified port test
Red Hat's Rough Recovery From CFO Exit
Windows Live Finds a New, Pre-installed Home |